Jason Burns / jasonburns.co.uk
Available - taking new work Contact

Updated

Updated What changed on
  • Added the UK zero-click and clicks-per-thousand figures from the SparkToro and Similarweb panel covering January to April 2026.
  • Added the measured value of an AI Overview citation, so the tools can be judged against what a citation is actually worth.
GEO tools UK buyer guide

Half the tools sold as GEO tools do not measure anything.

Texavor is a content workflow. Geordy generates files. Frase and Positive Surfer optimise writing. All four are useful and none of them will tell you whether ChatGPT mentions your brand. Buying one expecting measurement is the most common mistake in this category.

So this list splits on the only distinction that matters: tools that measure AI visibility, and tools that change what the engines find. Every price was checked against the live vendor page on 20 July 2026.

10  tools checked 20 July 2026  prices verified No affiliate  links
geo_stack.json
"measures_visibility"6
"changes_content"4
"cheapest_measure""Otterly $29"
"best_50_prompts""Frase $39"
"no_public_price""BrandLight"
"uk_built"[
"none of them"
]

The 30-second pick

Want to measure? Start with Otterly at $29/mo for 15 prompts, or AIClicks at $59/mo if you want a choice of engines. Frase at $39/mo is the cheapest route to 50 tracked prompts, oddly, because it is sold as a content tool.

Want to change what the engines find? Texavor at $11/mo for research and drafting, or Geordy at $39/mo if you want machine-readable versions of your pages generated automatically.

Before any of it, run the free AI visibility checker and sample ten prompts by hand.

Key takeaways

  • Four of the ten tools here do not measure AI visibility at all. They are content and structure tools.
  • The cheapest way to track 50 prompts is a content tool, not a tracker: Frase at $39/mo.
  • BrandLight publishes no pricing anywhere. Its /pricing URL returns a 404.
  • Goodie lives at higoodie.com. The goodie.ai domain is parked and for sale at $150,000.
  • Positive Surfer's $49 tier tracks zero AI prompts. Profound's $99 tier tracks one engine.
  • No tool on this page is UK-built, and every one prices in US dollars.

The UK numbers these tools exist to move

69.5%

of UK Google searches end without a click on anything, the highest rate of the six countries measured and above the United States at 68.0%.

Zero-Click Searches: Highest in the UK, Lowest in Germany, SparkToro and Similarweb, Rand Fishkin. Published 17 June 2026. Checked 19 August 2026.

How it was measured: Similarweb mobile and desktop clickstream panel, January to April 2026. Zero-click means no click to anywhere, including to Google's own properties and to paid results. Germany was lowest at 62.1%.

232

clicks reach the open web per 1,000 UK Google searches, against 287 in Germany.

Zero-Click Searches: Highest in the UK, Lowest in Germany, SparkToro and Similarweb, Rand Fishkin. Published 17 June 2026. Checked 19 August 2026.

How it was measured: Same panel and window. UK searches also end the session outright 43.1% of the time, the highest of the six countries measured.

35%

more organic clicks go to a brand cited inside an AI Overview than to one that is not cited on the same query.

AIO Impact on Google CTR: September 2025 Update, Seer Interactive. Published 4 November 2025, revised 21 May 2026. Checked 19 August 2026.

How it was measured: 3,119 search terms across 42 client organisations, 25.1M organic and 1.1M paid impressions, June 2024 to September 2025. Informational and educational queries only, which are the ones most exposed to AI Overviews, so this is not a whole-market figure. In absolute terms it is 0.70% against 0.52%. Paid click-through was 91% higher when cited.

A data centre aisle with one rack fully populated and lit, and an identical rack opposite standing completely empty.
Same rack, same rails, nothing running. That is the GEO tool market: half these products measure your AI visibility, the rest only change what the engines find.

The split that decides what you should buy

Vendors in this category all use the word GEO, which makes the market look like one shelf of comparable products. It is two shelves.

Tools that measure

Run a prompt set through AI engines on a schedule and report whether you were mentioned, which URL was cited, and who got picked instead.

You buy these to answer "are we visible, and is it improving". They produce a number you can put in a report.

Tools that change

Research topics, draft and score content, generate structured files, or optimise pages so engines can read and quote them.

You buy these to do the work. They will not tell you whether the work landed, which is why most teams end up owning one of each.

If your budget only stretches to one, buy measurement first. You cannot prioritise content work without knowing which prompts you already lose. The exception is a site with obvious structural problems, where fixing the fundamentals beats measuring how badly it is going.

// shelf one

6 tools that measure AI visibility.

Ordered by entry price. The catch on each one is stated plainly.

ToolEntry priceWhat that includesBest for
Otterly.AI $29/mo 15 prompts, 4 engines The cheapest way to start measuring
AIClicks $59/mo 30 prompts, 3 of 9 engines Widest engine pool at mid-market money
Peec AI $95/mo 50 prompts, 3 models Multi-market teams that want clean reporting
Profound $99/mo 50 prompts, 1 engine Enterprise citation analysis and board reporting
Goodie $399/mo 100 prompts, 3,000 responses, 3 engines Agencies wanting monitoring and fixes in one platform
BrandLight Demo only Not stated Enterprise brand teams with procurement

1Otterly.AI

$29/moLite, monthly
15 prompts, 4 engines

Best for: The cheapest way to start measuring

ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity and Copilot are included. 1,000 GEO URL audits a month and 50+ countries on every tier.

Watch for: Gemini, Google AI Mode and Claude are paid add-ons, so a full engine set on Lite runs closer to $76/mo. Standard at $189 is the real working tier at 100 prompts.

2AIClicks

$59/moStarter, monthly
30 prompts, 3 of 9 engines

Best for: Widest engine pool at mid-market money

Nine engines available including Grok, DeepSeek, Claude and Google AI Mode. You pick three on Starter, four on Pro at $189, six on Business at $499. Daily refresh on every self-serve tier.

Watch for: Engine count is capped per tier, not per need. If you want a broad set you are buying Business, not Starter.

3Peec AI

$95/moStarter, monthly
50 prompts, 3 models

Best for: Multi-market teams that want clean reporting

Priced on prompt volume alone. Countries and languages cost nothing extra, which matters if you sell into more than one market. Unlimited users on every tier.

Watch for: Each engine beyond your three is a separate line item: +$35/mo on Starter, +$85 on Pro, +$165 on Advanced.

4Profound

$99/moStarter, billed yearly only
50 prompts, 1 engine

Best for: Enterprise citation analysis and board reporting

The deepest source-level citation analysis in this list once you are on the right tier. Growth at $399 gives 100 prompts, 9,000 responses a month and three engines.

Watch for: Starter tracks ChatGPT and nothing else. At $99 for one engine it is the narrowest paid coverage here. Their own FAQ still references a "Lite" plan that no longer exists.

5Goodie

$399/moExplorer, monthly
100 prompts, 3,000 responses, 3 engines

Best for: Agencies wanting monitoring and fixes in one platform

Prompt research, visibility monitoring, AI crawler tracking, prioritised optimisation actions and revenue attribution in one place. 30-day money-back guarantee. Pro adds Gemini, Copilot and Amazon Rufus.

Watch for: Claude, Google AI Mode, Meta AI, DeepSeek and Grok are Enterprise only. The product lives at higoodie.com. The goodie.ai domain is parked and listed for sale, so ignore any link pointing there.

6BrandLight

Demo onlyNo published pricing
Not stated

Best for: Enterprise brand teams with procurement

Visibility and sentiment tracking, cited-source analysis, plus modules for technical crawlability and agentic commerce at SKU level. Named a leader in the CB Insights ESP ranking for generative engine optimisation.

Watch for: There is no pricing page at all. The /pricing URL returns a 404 and is absent from the sitemap. Its engine coverage is only evidenced in dashboard screenshots, not in a published claim. Budget blind or stay away.

// shelf two

4 tools that change what engines find.

Useful, cheap, and frequently mis-sold as measurement. Two of them do also track prompts, which is worth knowing.

ToolEntry priceWhat that includesBest for
Frase $39/mo 50 tracked prompts, 2 engines Content optimisation with tracking attached
Positive Surfer $49/mo 10 pages, zero AI prompts Teams already writing inside Surfer
Texavor $11/mo 1,100 AI credits, 5 competitors Cheap content research and publishing workflow
Geordy.ai $39/mo 500 file updates a month Automating machine-readable versions of your pages

1Frase

$39/moStarter, billed yearly
50 tracked prompts, 2 engines

Best for: Content optimisation with tracking attached

Repositioned in 2026 as a content operating system for AI search. The surprise is the AI Visibility module: 50 tracked prompts at $39/mo undercuts every dedicated tracker at the same prompt count.

Watch for: Starter covers ChatGPT and Google AI only. Perplexity needs Professional at $103, and Claude and Gemini need Scale at $239. It monitors and alerts. It does not fix anything for you.

2Positive Surfer

$49/moDiscovery, billed yearly
10 pages, zero AI prompts

Best for: Teams already writing inside Surfer

Content optimisation with an AI tracker beside it. Pro at $182 is the first tier with 50 prompts, daily refresh and five engines.

Watch for: The $49 tier tracks no AI prompts at all. Standard at $99 tracks ChatGPT only and refreshes weekly, which is too slow to catch movement. Surfer is now Positive Surfer under Positive Group.

3Texavor

$11/moStarter, monthly
1,100 AI credits, 5 competitors

Best for: Cheap content research and publishing workflow

Topic discovery, content briefs with answer capsules, article scoring, content-decay alerts and publishing into WordPress, Webflow, Shopify, Medium or Substack. A permanent free tier gives 350 credits a month.

Watch for: Not a tracker. There is no stated list of engines it monitors, and no country or locale tracking. Treat it as a writing workflow that is aware of AI search, not as measurement.

4Geordy.ai

$39/moPro, billed yearly
500 file updates a month

Best for: Automating machine-readable versions of your pages

Scans your site and publishes llms.txt, JSON-LD, markdown, YAML, RSS and Open Graph files on a subdomain, linked with rel=alternate. Also reads your logs for GPTBot, ClaudeBot, PerplexityBot and friends so you can see which crawlers actually arrive.

Watch for: It tracks no prompts, rankings or brand mentions. The engine list on its site is what it is optimised for, not what it measures. The free tier gives 40 file updates a month.

// like for like

What tracking 50 prompts actually costs.

Fifty prompts is roughly what a single-market B2B business needs. Same job, six prices. Verified 20 July 2026.

ToolPriceEngines at that priceTier
Frase $39/mo 2 (ChatGPT, Google AI) Starter, billed yearly
Peec AI $95/mo 3 selectable Starter, monthly
Profound $99/mo 1 (ChatGPT) Starter, billed yearly
Positive Surfer $182/mo 5, daily refresh Pro, billed yearly
Otterly.AI $189/mo 4 included, 3 more chargeable Standard, 100 prompts
AIClicks $189/mo 4 of 9 Pro, 150 prompts

The spread is nearly five times for the same prompt count, and the cheapest option is sold as a content tool. The full method and the 18-tool dataset behind these figures are in the pricing audit. Engine coverage is what you are really paying for. If you need six engines on 50 prompts, look at the hybrid rank trackers instead, where Nightwatch covers six engines from EUR 79.

// spend nothing first

4 free options worth running first.

AI Search Visibility Tool

Scores one URL on entity footprint, schema, extractability, freshness, authorship and citation hooks, then gives you UK-context prompts to test by hand.

Limit: Structural readiness, not live engine polling. It tells you why you are not cited, not whether you were cited yesterday.

Texavor free tier

350 AI credits a month, permanently free, for topic research and content scoring.

Limit: Content workflow only. No visibility measurement.

Geordy free tier

40 file updates a month plus AI crawler log analytics, no card required.

Limit: 40 updates covers about five pages if you generate all eight formats.

Goodie AI Visibility Index

Free agent site audit and visibility index without opening the paid product.

Limit: A shop window for a $399/mo platform. Useful as a second opinion.

What I deliberately left off

Anything with no published pricing gets flagged rather than recommended. BrandLight is on this page because it is a serious enterprise product, but its pricing page returns a 404 and its engine coverage is only visible in dashboard screenshots. That is not enough to recommend it to anyone spending their own money.

I have also left off the long tail of tools that wrap a single API call in a dashboard and charge monthly for it. If a product cannot tell you how many responses it runs per prompt, it is guessing, and so are you.

How to choose without wasting budget

Write the prompt list first. Not keywords, prompts: the questions a buyer types before they know your name. Most businesses land between 20 and 40. That number sets your tier more than any feature table.

Then pick engines from where your buyers are. UK B2B is mostly Google AI Overviews and ChatGPT. Paying an add-on for Meta AI coverage is a rounding error. Developers skew to Claude, which is the most commonly gated engine across the whole category.

Last, check refresh frequency before you check engine count. Six engines sampled weekly tells you less than three sampled daily, because AI answers vary run to run. A tool that samples once a week is reporting noise.

// questions I get

What clients ask about GEO tooling.

What is a GEO tool?

A GEO tool helps you appear in AI-generated answers. In practice the label covers two different products. Some measure whether AI engines mention and cite you. Others change your content or page structure so you are easier to cite. Only the first group gives you a number to report.

How much do GEO tools cost?

Verified July 2026: measurement tools start at $29 a month for Otterly Lite and run to $399 a month for Goodie Explorer, with BrandLight enterprise-only and unpriced. Content and structure tools start at $11 a month for Texavor. Tracking 50 prompts costs between $39 and $189 a month depending on how many engines you need.

What is the cheapest way to track 50 AI prompts?

Frase Starter at $39 a month billed yearly, which includes 50 tracked prompts across ChatGPT and Google AI. That undercuts every dedicated tracker at the same prompt count. Peec charges $95 for 50 prompts across three engines and Profound charges $99 for 50 prompts on ChatGPT alone.

Do I need a paid GEO tool right now?

Not if you have never checked. Run a free audit and sample 10 prompts by hand first. Pay for a tool when you need a trend line, when competitors are being cited for queries that drive your pipeline, or when someone has to report on it monthly.

What is the difference between GEO tools and traditional SEO tools?

Traditional SEO tools measure position in a ranked list of links. GEO tools measure whether you appear inside a generated answer and which URL was cited as the source. The second question has no position number, so GEO tools report share of voice, mention rate and citation source instead. There is more on this in SEO tools vs AI search tools.

Are any GEO tools UK-built?

None of the paid tools on this page publish a UK head office. In the wider category, Nightwatch is Slovenian and Rankscale is Austrian. Texavor, Geordy and Goodie publish no company address at all. The free AI Search Visibility tool on this site is UK-built and uses UK-context prompts by default.

How accurate are GEO tracking tools?

They are accurate about what they sampled, which is the catch. AI answers vary between runs for the same prompt, so a single check is close to meaningless. Judge tools on how many responses they run per prompt and how often they refresh, not on the score they print.

Which GEO tools track Google AI Mode?

Verified July 2026: AIClicks and Peec include Google AI Mode in their selectable engine pools, and Positive Surfer covers it from Pro. Otterly charges for it as an add-on. Profound, Goodie and Scrunch reserve it for enterprise tiers. AI Mode and AI Overviews cite different sources, so treat them as separate.

Do GEO tools fix anything automatically?

Mostly no. Frase states plainly that its AI Visibility module monitors and alerts but does not auto-fix. Geordy is the exception in that it generates and publishes machine-readable files for you, but that is file production rather than content quality. Every tool here surfaces a gap. Closing it is still human work.

Jason Burns, independent UK SEO, GEO and AI consultant
Written by

Jason Burns

Independent UK SEO, GEO and AI consultant. 17 years in search. Portfolio includes 3M, BlackRock, Unilever and E.ON. Owner of SEO Moves Ltd since 2014.

More about Jason →
// next step

Not sure which shelf you need?

Send your domain and three buyer prompts. I will tell you whether measurement or content work is the better first spend, and which tier actually covers it.

Ask for a GEO review